World cup again

I came across this while browsing on youtube,When I heard this I got flashbacks to 1978 which is the first World cup I remember,This is also one of my earliest memories of it all

This was my first realisation as a 7yr old that Scotland were shite and things haven’t changed as I approach 40.

So any world cup memories you want to share ,Come on lets hear them!!

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

20 Comments on “World cup again”

  1. yellowmagicobstacle Says:

    i share that moment EXACTLY with you!!!!!

  2. yellowmagicobstacle Says:

    that sporting theme reminds me of the music in the film True Romance. Dontya think?

  3. Skoosh Says:

    Remember that tune like it was yesterday Peter. Teofilla Cubillas was one of the best players in the world mate and I would disagree that Scotland were shite (apart from bad result against Iran. Believe it or not, Peru were fancied to go far until Argentina’s military junta had other ideas. The rest as they say is history. Can’t wait for it to start but I don’t share your optimism about Denmark after watching them play Australia – shocking game of football.
    Brazil for me with Ivory Coast getting to semis (what did he say?)

  4. Skoosh Says:

    ps Droghba’s presence is key to that last shout

  5. Dave Narey Says:

    It wisnae a toe poke Hill, ya chinny wee bar steward!

  6. Intifada McNulty Says:

    78, I remember in the playground everyone was convinced Scotland was gonna win it. Well, either us or Brazil. But it wasn’t just kids. Grown adults were sure of it as well. Loonies, the lot of them.

    I remember after the Iran game, the whole school walking around like zombies, no idea what had just happened. Not sure if we ever got over it.

    God bless Ally McLeod. He wisnae afraid of dreaming, that yin.

  7. andy Says:

    ive started a dream team league on the fifa site if anyone would like to join Use the code 392468-96126 http://bit.ly/dbFkVW
    http://en.mcdonalds.fantasy.fifa.com/

  8. bingabinga Says:

    I will have to check True Romance out I haven’t seen it or I just can’t remember it.

    Skoosh I think Scotland had good individual players at the time,but to a 7yr old,who was led to believe that we were going to win the World cup,as per Andy Cameron.They were shite.
    Peru probably were a good team but Scotland at the time was so wrapped up in OTT antics,that the thinking was we could beat anybody apart from maybe Brazil.So if The media etc hadn’t bummed us up so much,it would probably not be remembered as one of the biggset footballing farces in history.

    David Narey great goal.

    MrMcNulty I remember the camera showing the mad Scotland fans at the Iran game and after it this mad looking Ginger heeded fan wi a seventies denim jacket and a scarf tied round his wrist was singing,WE WANT OUR MONEY BACK.WE WANT OUR MONEY BACK.
    I remember that and Argentina 78 cola chews that were in the colours of the Argentinian flag.

    Andy I am going to check out the dream team.

    In work just now so it’s nice to get paid for messing about on the computer.

    PS Skoosh I haven’t decided yet who I think will win it,I am waiting till the last minute to make my mind up.

  9. Intifada McNulty Says:

    who do I want? South Africa

    Who do I think? Spain. With England not far behind.

  10. Pine Cabin Says:

    Was watching a bit of the 78 Holland game on ESPN a while back and couldn`t understand why Alan Rough got a game for Scotland. I mean Partick Thistle are and were pish? He went out for every cross ball, missed them leaving an open goal and generally flapped about. Not saying it was all his fault, but was there no other decent goalkeepers who could play for Scotland? Great hairdo though. We were in the Griffin bar a few weeks ago and “Roughie” and Gordon Durie were sitting across for us. The perm has gone and been replaced by a mullet. Thats my memory of the 78 world cup binga – hair! That wee Archie Gemmill guy doesn`t get a look in, he didnae have any!

  11. Intifada McNulty Says:

    If I remember right, Rough’s understudy was George Wood of Everton. Was much better. Even as a 7 yr old I knew that.

  12. Pine Cabin Says:

    Aye but George Wood couldnae sing like this?

  13. bingabinga Says:

    I think Alan Rough told me to fuck off once up the town,Were you there Scoosh or MrMcNulty.
    Big Peter McCloy was a better goalie PC.
    That Rap video was too much was that smeato making an appearance.

  14. Intifada McNulty Says:

    Smeato- wannabe politician, newspaper columnist, political theorist and all round defender of the free…

    reduced to a bitpart in a song by Alan Rough.

  15. Intifada McNulty Says:

    Does anybody remember the playground rumour of one of the 78 villains, Wullie Donachie? I came to school one morning (after he’d scored an o.g against England or something) and was duly informed that Donachie had topped himself. Everyone was talking about it the whole day- it was more of a fact really than a rumour. And people were shocked but at the same time quite relieved, even at that age we knew he was the weak link and he’d only done the decent thing.

    Couldn’t help feeling disappointed when I found out he was still alive.

  16. Skoosh Says:

    I was me that was with you Binga when he told you to fuck off. It came back to haunt him years later though when his brother worked with me in Gartnavel. We were at a night out, I was mad with it and annoyed him the whole based upon those 2 words he uttered years before.

  17. Pine Cabin Says:

    Aye that smeatons a wee wanker. He stood in the Glasgow by-election last year and made a right tit of himself. Put forward as an independent by the Jury Team (think conservatives, don`t think they back independents in torie seats). I remember this from the news; Bernard Ponsonby sticks the knife in at a press meeting, enjoy……….

  18. bingabinga Says:

    I remember that MrMcNulty although I wouldn’t have if you hadn’t brought it up.It was around the time bacon flavour football crazies were the in thing.

    I forgot you worked with his brother,I’m glad you remember it skoosh as I wasn’t sure if I had dreamt that or not,I think we were steaming.

    PC I saw that when the news broke,Does he not come from a relatively well to do Bishy family.

  19. Pine Cabin Says:

    Binga I think you will find the family moved to Erskine during his formative years!

  20. yellowmagicobstacle Says:

    what about those fkn annoying horns??????? should stick them up george burleys arse!!!!!


Leave a Reply

