The Fry Up

Bloody Marvelous

  

I treated myself recently when I drove 10 miles,yes that’s right 10 miles,to buy some fine breakfast meats from an Irish shop called Galway Traders,they are the only place in the Seattle area where you can buy fry up ingredients.So I got sausage,black pudding,an Irish thing called white pudding which is very good,and Irish bacon.I added some hash brown patties instead of the favoured potato scone,which I have made myself in the past as you cannot get it here,a couple of fried eggs,mushrooms and beans.Beans are often thought as a controversial component of the Great Fry up and I used to be dead against adding them,but due to ingredient shortages they have become an integral part of my Scottish/American Fry up.  

It all came out lovely and I said to Sarah after eating it that when I eat a fry up over here it makes me feel closer to home,I can imagine Scottish people through the ages eating fry ups.Like it or not the fry up is a meal that has stood the test of time and for me eating it has become a near spiritual experience.Anyone else got any good fry up stories? How do you like yours?

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

21 Comments on “The Fry Up”

  1. Intifada McNulty Says:

    I agree. The baked bean drowns the array of flavours and ultimately kills the fry up. But I’m glad you liked it.

  2. bingabinga Says:

    I used to feel the same MrMcNulty but a small amount of a good quality bean such as Heinz can add a certain amount of flare,and helps fill up the plate.

  3. andy Says:

    i have beans with mine. its square sausage,fried egg,black pudding,2 strips of bacon,tomato,toast beans and coffee.

    the egg gets halved and placed on top of the sausage and other half on strip of bacon, then munched together.

    2nd strip of bacon gets munched itself, beans go on toast, black pudding gets munched itself anaw. tomato saved til end and usually not eaten unless still not full.

    thats how i do mine 🙂

  4. bingabinga Says:

    Cheers Andy thats a well detailed description of your fry up and I am impressed by the attention to detail that you give ,It shows a level of respect the humble fry up rightly deserves.

  5. Pine Cabin Says:

    We`re spoilt back hame binga. Go into any supermarket and you can buy the breakfast pack, most of the ingredients in one handy package. Nae tattie scones in america! We shall bring over 3 weeks supply. We have started going for the healthy option. Frying everything in olive oil instead of the more traditional cooking oils. Gives it an almost mediterranean feel!

  6. bingabinga Says:

    I use Olive oil or Canola it maybe takes 2grams of fat off of the 100 that is already in the fry up.

    Aye get the Tattie scones over and some brown sauce!

  7. Skoosh Says:

    Yep, still a fan. Scottish butcher does all the ingredients over here but only treat myself now and again. The ‘fry up’ at mine on Christmas morning has become a bit of a tradition for my friends over in Oz, who love it.
    Only one criticism Binga; I would have preferred an photo of your fry up, just to contextualise it further.

  8. bingabinga Says:

    I was going to Skoosh but I ate it too fast.
    You’re lukcy to have a scottish butcher,does he do Square sausages and scotch pies to.

  9. Skoosh Says:

    Yep, he does bot although I don’t go near the pies. Australia is Pie heaven mate, no need for the mince rounds here pal.

  10. bingabinga Says:

    There used to be a shop called the Aussie pie shop here,I never went in it.My Aussie mate Guy says tou cover them with tomato sauce before eating them.
    I don’t think they would beat a scotch pie though or an Ashit pie out the chippy or the famous Killie pie.
    Skoosh can I also congratulate you as your comment was the 2000th,
    Your prize is a slap up meal in a restuarant of your choice in the Seattle area.

  11. bingabinga Says:

    I enjoyed that article std I don’t know what he was complaining about sounds like good food to me,Elitist Fools they should bring in there own dinner or pay more taxes.

  12. seethroughdrawers Says:

    how would you like to sink your teeth into a scotch pie with brown sauce mr binga?

    s.t.d

  13. bingabinga Says:

    Or a nice sausage supper

  14. seethroughdrawers Says:

    whit about a king rib supper?

  15. seethroughdrawers Says:

    are you still into pilot?

  16. bingabinga Says:

    King Rib suppers were tasy.

    I like Pilot I also like Leo Sayer.

  17. seethroughdrawers Says:

    do you rem leo sayer playing at the whuppity foreskin and john the hon wis up dancin in aw that???

  18. bingabinga Says:

    No

  19. yellowmagicobstacle Says:

    this is getting old now but…………opinion…….and intifadas too

  20. bingabinga Says:

    It sounded pretty good what I managed to hear while in work,but I have not a lot of knowledge of what is going on in the world of Muzak these days.I like a lot of the music hall stuff these days like this,


Leave a Reply

