Sad Man

I sent away to Amazon.co.uk for an assortment of the popular childrens shows from my childhood for me and Katie to watch together when I am home with her,

The kids programmes I purchased

  

I then went and bought this while I was at it as I was paying shipping from the UK anyway.

 Yes Simple Minds a visual history,It occured to me that as I approach 40 I have started to live life in the past and I’m not really interested in recent popular culture. I am getting old and predictable.I never thought I would be like that but its true what they say,it happens to us all.

Anybody else living in the past,come on share your old age stories.

Anyway here is a belter of a Simple Minds song.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

17 Comments on “Sad Man”

  1. Pine Cabin Says:

    Got all these programmes on the kids channels on sky when the bairns were younger. Mr Benn is a classic. Very disappointed in the clangers from what I could remember of them though; the animation was shite! Was like watching fuckin time-lapse photography. They all pale into insignificance when we mention Roobarb and Custard right enough, what a great intro tune. Was mixed into a great dance track a few years back in awe!

  2. Pine Cabin Says:

    Still got a copy of this lol. Enjoy………….

  3. bingabinga Says:

    I forgot about rhubarn and Custard maybe I will order that to.I can’t wait till shes 10 then I will buy the complete series of Grangehill,from Benny and Tucker to Stewpot and Duane to Zammo and Ziggy,all classic stuff.
    I must admit I have been impressed wi Bagpuss

  4. Pine Cabin Says:

    Strange thing, now James is that age he is obsessed with MASH! Hes got the first 4 series on dvd.

  5. andy Says:

    it seemed like mr benn ran for ages but there was only 14 episodes repeated for years.

    rhubarb and custard was produced by guy kneeling who was also known as bass generator! a well known scottish hardcore dj.

  6. bingabinga Says:

    There is also only 13 episodes of Bagpuss Andy.

    Thats funny James is obsessed with MASH,when you come over in the summer I will bring him to the hospital I work in,the ER is like a MASH unit at times wi the helicopter coming in and out and the maddies aw shooting each other.

  7. Pine Cabin Says:

    Andy I didn`t know that. Binga that sounds ideal, he`ll love it!

  8. Intifada McNulty Says:

    Saw Mr Benn recently and liked how the shopkeeper is called just, in every episode….’ a man.’

    Widnae mind seeing a bit of willo the wisp or Aubrey.

  9. bingabinga Says:

    Mr McNulty I found Willo the Wisp depressing,as well as that weird one Ludovic,which was that wee diamond with a telescope.I loved Aubrey though.

  10. Intifada McNulty Says:

    Ludovic- all classical music? terrible. like kids want to see that pish when they come in from school. Ditto the one with eggshell on his heid- caramelo? showin our age obviously. How does Ivor the Engine shape up these days?

  11. bingabinga Says:

    I haven’t watched Ivor yet,I was thinking of buying the flumps.What do you think?

    IO looked up Oliver Postgate who was the creator of Ivor,Bagpuss and the Clangers.
    He had a company called smallfilms he seemed like a nice man.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Oliver_Postgate

    Did you see Alan Stilltoe died.

  12. andy Says:

    Pine, im almost certain he has a credit on the vinyl although i cant find anything online to back it up, the only clue is a remix called rhubarb and samples on his discography.
    http://www.rolldabeats.com/person/guy_kneeling

    hardcore will never die 🙂

  13. Pine Cabin Says:

    Andy that came out a year after the original Shaft version I think (1992), and could have been another remix?

  14. andy Says:

    thats likely where the confusion comes from. a friend of mine used to say Bass G was the guy sitting in the chair on the top of the pops video here

    might not be true though 😦

  15. Pine Cabin Says:

    Didn`t know it was on TOTPs lol. They should really have got Richard Briers to sit on the chair?

  16. bingabinga Says:

    I like this one better from the prodigy.

  17. Pine Cabin Says:

    Great choice binga!


Leave a Reply

