Popular culture

Hi in between doing serious stuff,I have had the pleasure of delving into the mediums of film and popular literature,whilst delving I came up with these two great entertaining examples of pop culture.The first was a gift from my brother it is a book by the prolific Scottish writer and StMirren fan Christopher Brookmyre and I know my good friend Skoosh in the land down under is a big fan also.Not of StMirren he is a big fan of the author,the last I heard Skoosh supported Sydney united or something.

The book  is, A Tale Etched In Blood and Hard Black Pencil,If you went to school in the west of Scotland between 1970 and present-day you will really relate to this book.It is a West of Scotland crime story but it also goes into the characters pasts in the Paisley area,It is definitely worth reading and I am reading another Christopher Brookmyre book now.

The film I saw was District 9 which is now on DVD . Great film with a good story,plenty of action and awesome,yeah dude,awesome special effects,yous guys should rent it today.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

11 Comments on “Popular culture”

  1. mark Says:

    Been lookin for a good book for ages and this author seems tae tick all the boxes. Might start with his first one “Quite Ugly One Morning” right enough.

    Need tae move on from Sven Hassel, I think…..

  2. bingabinga Says:

    You know Mark Sven Hassel has always intrigued me have you read any of his stuff,I was thinking of getting one of his books from Amazon.
    You will not be disappointed with C.Brookmyre.

  3. Skoosh Says:

    Once you choose Brookmyre, you’ll never look back. Every book is a classic!

  4. mark Says:

    Binga forget all that Cormac McCarthy high brow shit and get a copy of Sven`s “Legion of the Damned” on your bedside table! It makes Erich Maria Remarques “All Quiet on the Western Front” look like childs play!!!

  5. bingabinga Says:

    Mark did he not also write SS Death Camp Criminal Battalion go to Monte Cassino for the Massacre?

  6. mark Says:

    Naw! That was just “The Young Ones” takin the piss! Are you gettin this from Wikipedia by any chance?

  7. bingabinga Says:

    Aye but I remember the Young Ones episode.I remember seeing they books in the library as a youngster and always thought they had cool covers.

  8. bingabinga Says:

    Skoosh have you read all his books? I think there is 13 of them at the moment I am reading A Big Boy Did It and Ran Away.

  9. Skoosh Says:

    Aye Binga, read them all and not a bad one amongst them. I especially like the ones involving Jack Parlabane. Be My Enemy is a particular favourite.

  10. bingabinga Says:

    Skoosh,I have not came across him yet,my brother says that he is the only character that appears in a few of his books.What is the first book he appears in? so that I read them in order.

    How was your boat party?

  11. skoosh Says:

    Think its the one Mark is reading ‘Quite Ugly One Morning’


Leave a Reply

