I miss you

A tribute to the Scottish foods I miss so much,

From Fern Cakes to Forfar Bridies from Tablet to Tunnocks products,You are gone for me but not forgotten.

The humble but delectable fern cake.

The humble but delectable fern cake.

Oh if I had you here!

Oh if I had you here!

Oh Ya Dancer!

Oh Ya Dancer!

Wonderful!

Wonderful!

Yes, just some of  my favourite  Scottish culinary delights.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

15 Comments on “I miss you”

  1. stevie Says:

    What a tribute. My heart goes oot tae ye, big yin.

    I take it postin a picture of a pineapple cake would have been just too painful.

    I’ve had four the past week.

    Honest.

  2. Mark Says:

    That second pic down must be bloody torture! I had a 3 of them on saturday for lunch, and an empire biscuit almost every day last week. Sometimes I think we take scottish cuisine for granted! It might kill you right enough, but yeh canny denie it was worth the risk!

  3. bingabinga Says:

    Thanks Stevie and Mark for the sympathy.People Mock Scottish food but it is the best in the world so it is.
    When you first come to America you think it’s great because there are so many different types of food from all aver the world but after years of eating it.You realise that Scottish cuisine is better than most.
    So when you are having your Roll and sausage and HP or yer Steak bake with a wee cheeky fern cake for afters think yerselfs lucky.

    Stevie never a fan of the Pineapple cake I loved the raspberry version of it though.

    Mark the best empire biscuits were in Park Mains High dinner hall.

  4. stevie Says:

    Never even tried the raspberry wan but I think I might soon. Get one of those 4 packs- pineabble, fern, raspberry and….

    Aaaaaaah, whit is it again??

  5. bingabinga Says:

    I think you may find it is the proud Bakewell tart Stevie.I remember they would put that in,or an Empire Biscuit,or a jam and coconut mountain thing as the cake to make up the 4 pack of delight.

    The funny thing about Scottish cuisine is,it all goes well with tea.

  6. Louise Says:

    Peter, I’m disappointed cos you forgot the humble potato scone!! I’m sure mum will bring you some wen her and dad comeover in October. Hope Sarah and Katie are doing well. Louise xx

  7. stevie Says:

    ”The funny thing about Scottish cuisine is,it all goes well with tea.”

    And let’s hope it stays that way.

    Bakewell! Dead right!

    Too similar to a ferny and why on second thoughts I’ll give the 4 pack a miss.

    That jammy coconut mountain thing. Never had that in my life. Never fancied it. But if anybody in the blogoverse can recommend it, then I’m in.

    Off to Oman soon. A lovely country but dear me, the shitiest cakes this side of the solar system.

    Lucky the lady’s a top baker.

  8. Mark Says:

    I think that might be a snowball stevie; a rounded sponge cake cut in half with jam in the middle, covered in white decicated coconut?

    I don`t really like them, far too dry inside.

    I recommend a Yum Yum, there is nothing quite like the glazed, hand-twisted, rope-shaped doughnut tae get your salivary glands intae overdrive! The Electric Bakery over here produces a fine example, oor James loves them.

  9. bingabinga Says:

    No Mark the mighty Snowball comes in its own 4 pack.This was sponge cake with red jam and covered in coconut.

    Louise I have been making my own potato scones over here for a while I am planning to make Square sausages soon I have a recipe from the Ma Broon cookbook.
    The baby and Sarah are doing great she is a nice mellow wee baby so far.

  10. stevie Says:

    Agreed. The mountainy thing is much redder than a snowball.

    The silence from the blogworld on its tastiness is starting to freak me out.

  11. fiona Says:

    Hee hee, I had a Tunnocks Snowball this morning and it was sublime. I know the coconut thing of which you speak. It’s the same as the cube shaped sponge thing that looks like it’s been dipped in red syrup then dipped in coconut. It’s kind of soggy-ish when you bite it and dead sweet.

    Our local bakery does brilliant cakes. Tipsy cake, japp cake, vanilla slice, TWO kinds of pineapple tower (fresh and synthetic cream varieties), MASSIVE yum-yums, fern cakes, empire biscuits and coffee buns.

    That roll and slice looked very tempting. You never mentioned that holier-than-holies. The Mutton Pie. Best enjoyed in a buttered roll (!).

    It’s little wonder that Scottish men have the highest heart disease rate in Western Europe, haha!

  12. bingabinga Says:

    My mouth is watering Fiona

    It’s little wonder that Scottish men have the highest heart disease rate in Western Europe, haha!

    It makes ye proud Fiona I often brag about this to the yanks and considering I work in a cardiology unit over here its good to be at the top.

    The Mutton pie and many other savoury delights could be added they used to sell sausage rolls in a supermarket here.They stopped because of lack of demand it was a sad day.

  13. bingabinga Says:

    Stevie Good luck in Oman sorry about the shite cakes but have they got good curries and stuff.

  14. Louise Says:

    The red coconut things are called eiffel towers!! My dad likes them.

  15. bingabinga Says:

    I never knew they were called that Louise,I think my all time favourite Scottish baked good has to be the All conquering Millionaires Shortbread especially out of Peckhams.


Leave a Reply

