A fine read

I just finished this book,It is a good read it is a bit like Catcher In The Rye but it is set in Vietnam.It is the author’s account of his tour of duty there.What is interesting is that it was written in 1969 and was probably one of the first anti Vietnam novels.

That’s Amazing I hear you say,well you know you should all fucking read a bit more and learn these things.People say to me Peter why are you such a wealth of  trivial knowledge,and I reply”because I read a book a week wee man”.Just like Finchy in The Office.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

7 Comments on “A fine read”

  1. Mark Says:

    Looks interesting. Another book you should peruse is Tobias Wolff`s In Pharaoh`s Army – Memories of a Lost War. Great writer!

  2. bobsausage Says:

    Beano 1976 is a belter why d’ont you lititry types gett a life

  3. stevie Says:

    Just read ‘Changing Man’ on Weller by Paolo Hewitt.

    The writer and him are ‘ex-friends’ so it was looked upon as a hatchet job by some. It isnae- not to me anyway cos I went out and bought 22 dreams after reading it. Should have done that a year ago, of course. Slap for me then.

  4. Mark Says:

    Bob I remember the cover of that one well. Dennis, Gnasher, The Bash Street Kids, Minnie the Minx and Lord Snooty on a horse with cowboy outfits. The horse runs off, causing the characters to fall in the river.

    Marvellous entertainment!

  5. bingabinga Says:

    Mark I read that book I liked this one more.

    Stevie I might buy that Weller book.

    Bob Sausage I liked the Whizzer n chips from that same year.

  6. godfrey mcclutchie Says:

    Hey yir right wee bawz aboot that cover- Lord Snooty was apparently ragin.

    As covers go it’s hard tae beat the Beano 1980 where the bash streets kids copy the scottish fans and destroy the goal poats.

  7. bingabinga Says:

    I like the cover of the 1979 Dandy Annual the one with Desperate Dan kicking Korky the cat in the balls,Or was that Hen and joe in the Broons.


Leave a Reply

