Stay In!!

Ok so the new going out is staying in,who wants to be around sick people with the swine flu,that’s what Doctors and Nurses make the big bucks for.So if you are staying in with Tinfoil and duct tape around the windows here are some book reviews for you.You can buy all this stuff at Amazon so you don’t have to go outside to get them.Stay safe and wash yer hands.

Ok so the first book I will review is called All Souls by Michael Patrick MacDonald

51goksg-l-_sl500_

Its a memoir of the Author growing up in South Boston (southie) in the seventies.South Boston is a large Irish American Ghetto a bit like the Gorbals.The author comes from a single parent family of eleven his upbringing is pretty rough and there is a lot of Racism towards the black communities in the area, race riots erupt when they try and bus kids to each others schools to promote integration it is a good read and I highly recommend it.

The follow up to his book is called Easter Rising and it is when the Author escapes Southie through Music and by following The East Coast Punk scene of the late seventies and early eighties I just started reading this but the first few chapters have been good.

0618470255

The author Michael Patrick MacDonald is a likable guy and his life is pretty interesting,I suppose many people live in bad situations but he writes about it  well.I don,t want to talk to much about him as it will give away his story,I would buy the books.

The third book I found in a used bookshop in Seattle it is called Faintheart and is by Charles Jennings.It is about the author an Englishman touring around Scotland.

I enjoyed this book and the author is quite kind to Scotland there are some funny moments even if it is dated,it was written just after the Scottish Parliament opened.It reads like a long article you would find in a Sunday supplement from the Observer or some other quality Sunday broadsheet,It was good and it mentioned the Erskine Bridge twice.

The fourth book I nearly finished was this one,now I was really looking forward to reading this but unfortunately I found it a bit of a chore trying to get through it.Here it is,ironically it is called The World Without Us.

world-without-us

This one was for the boffins out there I read 2/3 of it and then put it down.I am not saying it was a bad book I just wasn,t that interested in what happened to Nuclear Power Stations when we had all been killed by some virus or what animal would rise to the top of the food chain when we are all gone.I am sure many people are as it was the nonfiction best seller of 2007.I may finish it but not just now.

And finally I watched this movie last night called Frozen River the lead woman got nominated for an Oscar.

It was very realistic in a depressing way.It is about the real America ie poor people’s America who live in trailers and Native Americans who live on reservations.It is good and very well acted you feel it is real life.Melissa Leo the lead in the movie gets caught up in an illegal immigrant smuggling ring run by Native Americans.It is grim but there is a certain amount of beauty in its grimness.I highly recommend it.

OK so that should keep you going while you hide from the outside world behind yer tinfoil windaes,see ye’s later hope you keep well.I am back at work tomorrow so I will see if we get our first swine flu victim in Seattle.

May I just add that if you want some sounds when you are hiding from the plague I would recommend this man,Badly Drawn Boy,a musical genius.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

3 Comments on “Stay In!!”

  1. stevie Says:

    OOh easter rising sounds good, I’ll be looting Waterstones for that when the shops are empty.

  2. Mark Says:

    The World Without Us seems fairly relevant with recent events?

    On an equally cheery note I`m reading a disturbing book at the moment. Its called The Grass Arena by John Healy. I vaguely remember a BBC drama made of this book in the early 90`s, and it put the hook in me. Its the life story of a bloke from London who has a pretty shite upbringing; abusive father, bullied etc. He becomes a brilliant boxer but looses it all to the drink, and eventually becomes a vagrant alcoholic sleeping on park benches (the grass arena) and doorways. He looses 15 years of his life to this madness until one day, while in prison for vagrancy, someone teaches him chess. He becomes obsessed with the game so much it helps him stop drinking and leave the grass arena for good. He becomes a chess champion but is shunned by many within the game.

    The book was out of print for 20 years but has just been republished by penguin classics. Everyone who reads this should buy it. It`ll change yer life!

  3. bingabinga Says:

    Stevie buy it now!!
    It is very good you should read the first one to.

    Mark that book sounds good.The world without us is a bit to dry for me although I read most of it.

    Oh and the swine flu is here there is a couple of cases in our hospital Oh dear!!


Leave a Reply

