A very good book

I just finished this book it was called Granny Made Me An Anarchist,General Franco,The Angry Brigade and Me.It is by Stuart Christie who was raised in Glasgow and attended Langside College in the sixties,My Mum remembers him as she attended Langside College at the same time which I thought was a bit coincidental.

I really enjoyed it and it makes you realise how radical Scotland was in the 1960’s an 70’s and sadly how things have changed for the worse.Stuart Christie at the age of 18 was involved in a plot to assassinate General Franco in the 1960’s and ended up in a Spanish Prison.It also sheds light on another organisation in the early 70’s called The Angry Brigade who were responsible for some acts of violence in protest against the British Government and their policies.

It  is a breath of fresh air to read of a time when people where more interested in changing the world than watching Pop Idol and buying shite.Maybe that time will come back again but until then I suppose we will just have to read about it.

I better watch what I write here I don’t want thrown out the country for being a lefty radical.Cheers for recommending the book Mark.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

5 Comments on “A very good book”

  1. stevie Says:

    Looks interesting, will check it oot. Just googled him and he lives in Partick apparently.

    I’m gonna check a book out in the summer about the Scottish International Brigades called Homage to Caledonia. Looks a belter. Aye, changed days right enough. Would like to say I’d have been up for the task if I’d been alive back then but I think that type of thought just trivialises their bravery. Much more likely I’d have been saying aw the best while making my own excuses.

    Heroes!

  2. bingabinga Says:

    That book sound’s good Stevie,it reminds me of one of my favourite films Land and Freedom by Ken Loach.
    I think you would have been one of the first to man the barricades Stevie,wi me a close second.
    Maybe with the collapse of the free market it will herald in a new era of left of Centre politics but I doubt it.Talking of politics I just saw that movie Hunger,powerful stuff,have you seen it?

  3. stevie Says:

    Aye! Powerful, just a bit! Had to leave during the final scene and come back in again!

  4. Louise Says:

    I don’t know if I could cope with that film Hunger, far too emotional. I’m planning a nice wee day today. Goin to the gym, then havin lunch (bacon and egg rolls with the hens eggs) and then planting seeds in the garden with James and Sophie. We have a wee tent/greenhouse thing to make the seeds take off in this cold place. Then I will watch Falkirk v Rangers. Inverness won yesterday so Falkirk really need to take something from this game. Although they paly us on Wednesday so I hope they’re not too up for that. Played well yesterday, glad to see Samaras and Venegoor scoring. How is Sarah doing, does she have a bump yet?

  5. bingabinga Says:

    I am going to play golf today.Glad to hear the hens are doing well Louise.
    Sarah has quite a big bump now,She is having another ultrasound this week.Then we are going for a weeks holiday to Oregon.


Leave a Reply

