The Seaside

Life is a bit boring just now.Winter is starting to get me doon a bit.The clocks go forward tonight here so at least it will be a bit lighter.I decided to cheer myself up so I booked a holiday  to the Oregon coast for the week after Easter.We have been there before it’s a wee place called Yachats (pronounced yahats).I love it there,golden beaches,nice places to eat and most of all hardly any people.We like the drive down there too through all the wee coastal communities,there is even one called Seaside,you could send a postcard of the Seaside from Seaside Hahahahahah,mental!!!

a cannae wait

The Oregon Coast

The Oregon Coast

This is where we stay,Ocean Haven

This is where we stay,Ocean Haven

A cannae wait

A cannae wait

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

14 Comments on “The Seaside”

  1. twoforapound Says:

    God, that looks nice.

    I’d go if I had a passport.

    You’ve mentioned before going for wee drives roonaboot the place. Must be nicer scenery there. Is it cos the cities are separated by stretches of rural towns or is it just nicer generally.

    Be honest, I know ye love Scotland anaw that but it must be much nicer than here?

  2. bingabinga Says:

    I think that is the reason TFP.I was always surprised how nice the Countryside of California was and how rural it is in certain places.I always thought it was just LA SF and SD and it was like a metropolis.
    I do like it better here as there seems to be more to see but Scotland also has great places that people don’t think of visiting like the Hebrides. I loved it there.

  3. twoforapound Says:

    Have you ever been to Tiree?

  4. bingabinga Says:

    No but I went from Barra to Lewis in the summer of 2007 I would like to go to Tiree and Coll sometime.Have you been there TFP?

  5. twoforapound Says:

    My wee pal when I was younger used tae go there aw the time, it looked amazing. Always thought of goin on the CalMac ferry but never got roon tae it.

    I like the sea. Was gonnae get aw philosophical there but I’ll no bother!

    But aye, I’d like tae go tae Tiree.

  6. bingabinga Says:

    Off topic,but You see on the map TFP the place called Aberdeen it is in Washington state that is where Kurt Cobain was from,it’s a depressing place.

  7. twoforapound Says:

    Oh aye, remember watching that Nick Broomfield documentary aboot Kurt and Aberdeen looked really grim.

  8. FionaF Says:

    Here’s a strange wee coincidence; I was watching ‘Kindergarten Cop’ the other day and it’s set in Astoria. I said to Steve how lovely it looked and that I wouldny mind going there one day and here it’s just up the coast from Yachats.

    Jealous as hell.

  9. FionaF Says:

    Just checked back in to this thread and as I was waiting for the page to load, ‘Kindergarten Cop’ came on. Freakin’ it!!

  10. bingabinga Says:

    I haven’t been to Astoria but we will be passing through it on the way.We will stay in Cannon Beach on the way down and on the way back,just to break the drive up and 3 nights in Yachats.
    The last time we went we did not take the coastal road.
    You should go sometime Fiona,it is a really nice part of the US.

  11. bingabinga Says:

    Kindergarten Cop has that got The Governer in it.

  12. FionaF Says:

    Peter, I don’t have a passport – never have! Just how my life evolved – I married young and we kept on moving house and spending our holidays/money on them OR I was pregnant/had young baby. We’re on the verge of moving again – we’re like fuckin gypsies over here. Every few years we get itchy feet – we keep vowing that each time is the last but then we get the bug and off we go again. This time, the house we’re after is a stoater – needs renovated to the max but it’s MASSIVE – room for 3 more kids (aye, RIGHT!!).

    Maybe one day I’ll manage ot get off this island 🙂

    BTW – Kindergarten Cop does indeed star The Governor of California – one of his finest performances.

  13. twoforapound Says:

    Haha, I don’t have a passport either!

    Thought I was the only wan left! People look at ye funny if you’ve no passport.

    I’d be dangerous wi a passport. I’d fucking jump on a plane and no come back.

  14. bingabinga Says:

    Ach foreign travel isn’t that great anyway.Now I have my house and stuff I don’t really like going far from home.


Leave a Reply

