Glesga Documentary

I found the documentary about the East End of Glasgow that I was thinking of when I called this blog Bingabinga.It is an interesting slice of Glasgow life I think it is from the mid eighties its a nice uplifting short.I like it at the end when the hero of the short piece say’s “shoot the bastards”.He talks about shooting more bastards in part 2 if you can be bothered.The East End of Glasgow is a place full of character my mum and her family come from there.In fact come to think of it I was born there in Rottenrow maternity hospital.I lived my first year of life in Tollcross.Aaaah the East End a Glesga ye cannae beat it.

YouTube – Glasgow Nutters versus Loan Sharks (1 of 2).

Here are a couple of typical views from Glasgow’s East End.

Fun times in Glasgow's East End

Fun times in Glasgow's East End

Everybody's happy in the East End.

Everybody's happy in the East End.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

7 Comments on “Glesga Documentary”

  1. bakerka23 Says:

    So ‘bingabinga’ is what? It sounds like ‘bingobingo’ only in a slang accent.

    I lived on London Road for 2 years and was never so glad to get out a place in my life.

    BTW – Off topic, but do you ever watch ‘The Biggest Loser’. They’re showing the series on SKY just now that had the couples in it. It’s on every morning and it’s wierdly compelling. The weight some of these folk have lost and yet still they look like fat bastards. Still, all credit to them (I was a wee bit nasty there).

  2. twoforapound Says:

    Spent two years in a rough-as-fuck scheme in Maryhill. Comet wouldn’t deliver a cooker tae me cos they were feart that their van would get done over.

    Love Glasgow but when you’re living in hell, it loses its charm.

    Heard that the block I was in’s getting pulled doon.

    I’d happily stand and cheer as it faws tae the ground.

  3. bingabinga Says:

    It was the wee guy who said Bingobingo in the documentary It has always stuck in my mind,but bingobingo was taking as a blog name so Bingabinga it is.
    I have seen the biggest loser a couple of times it’s no bad as far as reality shows go.They are always greeting though,usual American TV.
    Its true about America,it is fatty central and I am starting to join them.Time to hit the gym,I don’t want to be a fat Da.
    I have been watching Last Restaurant standing on BBC America it’s not bad.
    TFP I worked in Gartnavel General for a year There was a lot of patients from Maryhill I could imagine it being a bit rough.
    I do miss certain things about Glasgow like the chippy,the fitba and the bookies but I am glad I am over here in Seattle and only visit the West of Scotland every so often.

    Anyway TFP where’s my picture of the fish supper.

  4. twoforapound Says:

    Ye’ll need tae settle for a haggis photie the night.

  5. bingabinga Says:

    Haggis is a better one.

  6. twoforapound Says:

    Aw fuck it, I’ve just had my dinner and although I’m going up the pub where the haggis is, I’m going wi a veggie so yer no gonnae get a photie unless someone next to us orders it then I’ll have to hing over their dinner and then we’ll get barred and I’m no really prepared to do that.

    Whit aboot a square sausage?

  7. bingabinga Says:

    Square sausages are even better whit aboot throwing in a tattie scone.


Leave a Reply

