Blancmange – Living on the Ceiling

YouTube – Blancmange – Living on the Ceiling.

This is just a Kaleidoscope of colour and adventure.A great song from a great 80,s band,and for all you wordsmiths out there Blancmange means white food. Enjoy

Blancmange or white food Hahaha

Blancmange

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

54 Comments on “Blancmange – Living on the Ceiling”

  1. stevie Says:

    7th best song of the 80s

  2. bingabinga Says:

    What’s your top 10 Stevie?

  3. bingabinga Says:

    Stevie I bet ye Furniture Brilliant Mind is in it.

  4. stevie Says:

    I’d need to get back to you on that one but definitely Furniture, aye. And Half-man Half-biscuit and the Redskins and It’s Immaterial and The The Heartland blah blah…

  5. Mark Says:

    My number one from the 80`s has got to be Ultravox`s All Stood Still. The synth sound is aaaaaamazing. Talking about the meaning of words Peter, did you know Ultravox were named after an industrial strength cleaning detergent?

  6. topcat Says:

    Oh my god you guys are so freaking old

  7. bingabinga Says:

    No I didn’t Mark,I was looking at some obscure songs from the 80’s and The Redskins were one of them then I started watching old footage of the miners strike they were mad times.

    Mark I work with a girl called Vienna and every time I see her I think of Ultravox.

  8. Mark Says:

    In that case if you and Sarah have a wee girl, I`d keep the name Vienna in mind!

  9. bingabinga Says:

    Aye we were thinking of Barack for a boy.

  10. bingabinga Says:

    Mark I just watched the Ultravox song interesting choice Sir.

  11. Gregg Says:

    I was just a nipper in the 80s, which may contribute to the fact that I think 80s music is rather…. poor?

    I have to say though I always loved Half Man Half Biscuits – All I Want For Christmas Is A Ducla Prague Away Kit, classic song.

    That said, I really like McCarthy, and in particular We Are All Bourgeois Now – take a listen over at LastFM if you ain’t listened before http://tinyurl.com/bq2ltb.

    Also, The Stone Roses – The Stone Roses was released in 1989 and that album goes above and beyond the definition of classic. I will hear no objection to this fact 😀

  12. bingabinga Says:

    Gregg HMHB were probably one of the best bands of the 80’s.I bought one of their recent albums there were a couple of good songs on it.

    Yes Gregg the Stone Roses superb,that was a great time when they were around and the start of the Rave Scene.Although I think my brain cells took a bit of a pounding back then.You know what they say if you can remember the early nineties you probably weren’t there.
    I do remember something about Sheena Easton and Adamski in Glasgow Green.

    I had never heard that band McCarthy before they were good.

  13. stevie Says:

    It’s funny how The Stone Roses are an eighties band. They don’t even seem like a Nineties band to mem just seemed to rise above any of those sort of categories.

    I remember McCarthy from the eighties but I was too fixated with welshmen with funny haircuts to ever hear them back then. I know the Manics were always fans though.

  14. fiona Says:

    I have a CD in my car the now which has ‘Living on the Ceiling’ on it – Stu LOVES the song so I feel I’ve handed the 80’s torch to the next generation, haha.

    Since I started secondary school in 1981 my formative years were lived to a background of;

    Heaven 17, Nik Kershaw, Howard Jones, Haircut 100, Echo & The Bunnymen, Depeche Mode, The Human League, Spear of Destiny etc.etc.etc.

    Never thought of the Stone Roses as being 90’s myself. I always associate them with the period after I got married which was 1989.

    Peter, we LIVED at the Green when that thing was on that you referred to. It was 1990 or 1991 if memory serves. I think it may have been the very first T in the Park but that may have been another occasion. Folk walked through all the gardens at our flats on the way home and 2 lassies had a pish in the bushes outside my kitchen window. Good times, good times…

  15. Will Says:

    Ah remeber that day tae! it wasnt T in the park. There was hothouse flowers and others i cant rem playing in George Square and then me and a think it was monty grum and fergie!!!! met you and stevie and maybe alex in the crowd at Glasgow Green waiting for Adamski!!!!! hahahaha!!!

  16. stevie Says:

    It was called The Big Day and we all dropped acid and laughed at Sheena Easton.

  17. stevie Says:

    My Eighties Top 10 BingaBinga as requested and you’ve no idea how long this took me so when we meet you owe us a donut.

    1. If You Need Someone- The Field Mice

    2. This Charming Man- The Smiths

    3. Keep On Keepin On- The Redskins

    4. Where The Streets Have No Name- U2

    5. Take The Skinheads Bowling- Camper Van Beethoven

    6. Working In A Goldmine- Aztec Camera

    7. Can You Feel It- The Jacksons

    8. Twenty-Four Hours- Joy Division

    9. Brilliant Mind- Furniture

    10. Theme From Great Cities- Simple Minds

    I know what you’re thinking- What an Interesting Bastard.

    And you’d be right.

    I’ve just listened to number one though and best song of the whole decade is actually pushing it so who the hell knows..

  18. bingabinga Says:

    Stevie cheers for taking the time I am back at work 12hr shifts but I will compose mine and discuss further soon.The Inlaws are coming on Friday night for a week busy times.

    Fiona you will be round the same age as us we started High school 82/83.That Big Day was mad I remember people running about kicking cars in Argyll street after it.
    Willie Aye we bumped into you,fergie Grum and Monty.Fergie sat oan a shite I always remember that through my acid haze I don,t know why.

  19. stevie Says:

    Check oot no. 10 though. I’ve just found it masel on youtube and what a tune

  20. bingabinga Says:

    Stevie I have been listening to Simple Minds alot I always thought that track was ahead of it’s time.I am looking forward to composing my list, there will always be space for Bad Manners they were great!

  21. bingabinga Says:

    Fiona you must have got married young.sorry that was a bit personal.
    How was living on Glasgow Green back then must have been lots of interesting characters.

  22. stevie Says:

    A comment from a Simple Minds fan on youtube:

    Simple Minds is my favorite band. I have owned thousands of albums and I really can’t come up with any band that offers more of a sense of importance while maintaining great catches and universally appreciated licks and rhythms while staying within each song’s individual interest timelength. I do my best to sing along with Kerr 8-9 tunes in my weekly 4 hour top-volume singing-to-tunes workout. His strong voice is overwhelming and unmatchable.

    Hee Hee.
    He’s funny because he’s foreign.

    That was a joke, by the way.

  23. bingabinga Says:

    That guy is 100% right especially the “universally apprecited licks” I would like to see him in his singing workout.Do you think he starts crying when Jim Kerr’s voice overwhelms him.
    Remember bumping into Jim Kerr up the town,that may have been the single most important event in my sorry life.
    I got to get back to work I am going to get caught ducking and diving oan the computer.

  24. stevie Says:

    I’ve got a photo of us from that day in glasgow green, I’ll try and dig it oot.

  25. stevie Says:

    Been watching Simple Minds vids aw day so my essay’s fucked.

    Hard to believe that a band who could produce this little beauty…

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZfGDFgdmdvo (The American)

    would, by the end of the decade, be boring the pants off the whole country with this pompous bollocks….

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lG-KWjWy36Q (Belfast Child)

    A well known fact is that Belfast Child only got to number one cos of a mass campaign by thousands of dreary fist-pumping Celtic fans.

    Ahem…

  26. stevie Says:

    Still dodging this essay to the tune of a band who could do ‘Celtic Rock’ if that’s what it’s called without making themselves look daft

  27. bingabinga Says:

    Belfast Child was better than Mandela Day.My personal favorites are Up on the catwalk and New Gold Dream.

  28. bingabinga Says:

    Good song Stevie I remember you alway’s liked Energy Orchard

  29. bingabinga Says:

    Stevie take a photo of the photo and upload it on the computer.

  30. stevie Says:

    It’s in my mas hoose but I’m going there next week.

  31. stevie Says:

    however Peter, I think you might have been the wan takin photae…

  32. Will Says:

    Dear bingabinga, how you doing? and Stevie….heres an eighties wan fur yi! this was Cammy McNabbs song…well this and party fears 2 by the associates…..always thought auld cammy was ahead of his time!!!

    disni start to 1min 30 though.

    ps…..dont have any songs for mushy.

  33. stevie Says:

    never heard that song before, it’s pretty good.

    Didnae really know that guy Cammie, only thing I remember about him was when he was in the art class across from me and they were making xmas cards.

    In glue, before he poured over the glitter, he wrote MERRY XMAS…

    …and underneath it drew a giant cock.

    Quite a good thing to be remembered for, I supppose.

  34. Will Says:

    LOL!!!!!!!!!!!! Hilarious!!!!!!! different class!!

    He was a charachter…..i think bingabinga, how you doing, might have known more of his antics.

    He used tae have a greyhound dug called jet. It was all black apart from this big white patch on his stomach. I remember i went round to his once tae see if he was coming oot tae play fitba and he had got a big blue inky and coloured in the dug!!!!!

  35. stevie Says:

    Now I’m listening to The Alarm.

    They were another band who went from brilliant to shite in the blink of an eye.

  36. stevie Says:

    who was mushy?

  37. Will Says:

    The one and only Neil McKerrall……king of the ”condies”……sleekit wee timerous beasty!!!

  38. bingabinga Says:

    Aye Cammy McNab he was a good guy.I was in his At Your Service class which was a cookery and foodservice class for all the dafties me included.I got thrown out of physics.
    I used to cook wi Cammy,he and Neil McKerrol would throw their food oot the windae on to the teachers cars below.I went to the AA building for work experience wi Cammy but we dogged it and went down the beach and lit a fire.
    I bumped into him twice in adult life once in Govan he was out his head oan wiz but still alright,and then in Partick he was running around wi this mad guy who had been in jail for murder,so as you can imagine I left that pub pretty sharpish.

  39. stevie Says:

    Most 80s song of the 80s?

    Should probably be the national anthem.

  40. bingabinga Says:

    Great song Stevie and good views of Glasgow.Love and Money were another great Leather and denim type Glasgow band.I was always a fan of Lloyd Cole and the Commotions around that time.I remember dancing to that song In Fury Murrays.

  41. stevie Says:

    We also bumped in Cammy in The Arches (?) one night about 10 yrs ago or did I just make that up.

  42. bingabinga Says:

    Yes we did,he certainly was a man about town oor Cammy.

  43. Louise Says:

    It’s funny you and Stevie talkin about Energy Orchard, I just downloaded some of their songs onto my ipod last week. For some reason they came into my head. Takes you back. I was at the big day too, and phoned dad at 2am to come and get me and Sharon cos Argyll St was mental. Louise xx

  44. bingabinga Says:

    Its good finding things on youtube Louise.That Big Day was mad.

  45. bingabinga Says:

    Stevie I am going to give you my top 10 80,s tunes.

    1 Rattlesnakes :Loyd Cole and the Commotions

    2 A sort of homecoming: U2

    3 Life’s what you make it :Talk Talk

    4 Down in the tube station at midnight:The Jam

    5 Up on the Catwalk: Simple Minds

    6 Jack and Diane: John Cougar Mellencamp

    7 Keep on keeping on : The Redskins

    8 The Beat:Save it for Later

    9 The Housemartins:Get Up of Our Knees

    10 The Style Council:Shout to the Top

    Stevie these are all records that I owned and were relevant to me at the time I still like all of them a lot.

  46. stevie Says:

    Hmmm.

    That looks better than mine. I forgot about Talk Talk.

    But the Jam’s fae the 70s!

  47. bingabinga Says:

    Hmmm the jury is out on the Jam.

  48. stevie Says:

    Aye, I had to exclude them completely. It’s hard. Aw they people who moan about their stressful jobs and the economy should try and write their top 10 80s songs over a day, that’s real pressure. And I feel a fraud for not even being a massive fan of two of them at the time, and not even hearing the joy division one till 1999.

    And just writing ‘1999’ reminds me of someone else I forgot.

  49. bingabinga Says:

    Exactly Stevie I heard Rattlesnakes by Lloyd Cole the other day and it transported me back in time so for now that is No 1 but it may change.All those songs were great if the Jam are not allowed then Billy Bragg maybe added.The Housemartins are a long forgotten favourite but I was a big fan in the 80s.
    Prince hated that wee fucker

  50. stevie Says:

    Also forgot Wah’s story of the blues.

    Binga, it’s lucky your blog isnae particularly popular.

  51. bingabinga Says:

    Stevie I never put in many great songs Echo and the Bunnymen HMHB,Bad Manners,REO speedwagon and The Nolan sisters to name a few.

  52. bingabinga Says:

    Whit dae ye fucken mean the blog isnae popular ye want see the viewing figures hunners a cunts. by the way Stevie

  53. stevie Says:

    I know wan or two who are lookin but no bloggin. Eh?

    EH?

  54. bingabinga Says:

    Naw I’m kidding Stevie I think there is an average of about 80views a day but that is probably you,Mark,will etc.Anyway I am just doing this for a laugh,it’s good to hear from people though.


Leave a Reply

