The Outer Hebrides II

Trying to upload those  photographs last night of our trip to the Outer Hebrides stressed me out these blogs can piss you off at times especially when you are a Luddite like me.I just wanted to say that the Outer Hebrides is one of the best places I have been.I feel bad when I am over here in the USA and I meet some American who says they have been to Scotland and they have been here and there and I am just looking and nodding in agreement.When I know the embarrassing thing is I had,nt been further north than Dundee and that was to see the fitba and to visit my mate Alex.

I think I regret not doing more travelling in the UK or Europe when I lived there as I have been to many places in the US.I think like a lot of Scottish males I was too wrapped up in the stupid macho world of heavy drinking,fitba and the boozers and the ridiculous notion that if you weren,t doing these things you were somehow less of a man.Just one of my regrets.

Sorry for that bit of self reflection anyway I don,t drink anymore I haven,t touched a drop for 3yrs 6months.

Oh Aye the Outer Hebrides So Sarah and I took a ferry from Oban to Barra we had hired a car at Glasgow airport it was a bit pricey taking the car on the ferry but it was worth it.We Island hopped and drove From Barra right up to the Butt of Lewis and then got the ferry from Harris to Skye,  Aye that is what they call it The Butt of Lewis HahHAHAH,anyway we went through Barra, Eriskay,South Uist,North Uist,Benbecula,The Isle of harris,and the Isle of Lewis It was 270miles and we stayed in wee B&Bs on the way and met lots of nice people except for this wee English guy called Rex who we befriended but was cheeky to me something about the Glasgow accent was horrible and the Edinburgh accent was more palatable to him, Dick.There were many highlights the scenery the neolithic burial chamber on North Uist,The Callanish standing stones in Lewis.You feel you are in one of the last unspoiled places of  Western Europe maybe even the world.You should go,all Scottish people should go at least once to the Hebrides.When I am feeling stressed out in work and things are kicking off with Cardiac arrests and other emergencies I take a second and think about my wee trip to the Hebrides and things are better again.

Anyway I felt like this  when I was there and I didn,t need any pills.

YouTube – The Beloved — Sun Rising.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

11 Comments on “The Outer Hebrides II”

  1. Gregg Says:

    I’m a little ashamed that I have not been to that many places in Scotland. Until about 3 years ago the furthest north I had been was, like you, Dundee (and that was for a gig). I mean I had only been in Edinburgh once before I was 26, been there a fair few times in the last 5 years though. I also went up north (Torridon, just south of Ullapool) a couple of years back but I thought it was quite shit, scenery was very ragged and we couldn’t find anywhere to get something to eat that didn’t involve fish. I do however prefer the Fort William area, I’m more a fan of big mountains than anything else. I don’t even have the excuse of boozing having never drank, just laziness 😀

    That said, I was in Oban last weekend (being in Lochgoilhead it’s not too far) and there was about half a dozen dolphins in the bay which was colossal to see. When there I was thinking about how nice it would be to jump on the ferry and go to the Western Isles, so I think it may be on the cards for the summer!

  2. bingabinga Says:

    Do it Gregg,hopefully you will get some OK weather.Sarah and I were visiting Islands called the San Juans recently they are in between Vancouver Island and the mainland.They remind me of Scottish Islands we have been there twice this year.We went to this little secluded bay at sunset and right in front of us there was this pod of Orca whales It was amazing It was maybe the most spectacular view I have ever seen.There was no one else there just as and the whales and some guy in the bushes.

  3. 0hgosh Says:

    I went to Skye and to Tobermory! really nice !!
    I enjoyed it all….

    fort william and lochinver also v nice places, however oban !! hmmm me and my bro alwasy said that the only exciting thing there was a fag doubt !!

    so Binga what do u do? job wise that is

  4. bingabinga Says:

    Ohgosh I work as a Registered Nurse in the Public Hospital in Seattle.

  5. redwiteandblue Says:

    know wonder you live in our fine country now.

    That place sure sucks’

  6. 0hgosh Says:

    Have you always been a reg nurse TJ?

  7. bakerka23 Says:

    Gregg, the only trouble with Oban (in fact the whole of that area) is that it’s shut on a Sunday. Very religious up there, they are and ‘the Sabbath’ is taken very seriously. I laughed at your moan about the fish. I LOVE seafood so it’s great for me whenever we go up there but if you aren’t a fish-fan it’s a bit of a nightmare. Most coastal areas throughout the world are very fish-heavy I suppose.

    redwiteandblue – sorry you think Scotland sucks. Millions of people who visit here every year would disagree with you. You’ll be right enough though, I mean it certainly doesn’t have the charm and beauty of somewhere like, say, Indiana, Nebraska (corn, anyone?) or Illinois (!!!!)

    As they say over here, ‘SAKE!!.

  8. redwiteandblue Says:

    indiana is fool of women and librals. Nebraska I aint been and I bet you aint neither. Har har Illinois is in Canada.

  9. bakerka23 Says:

    “redwiteandblue Says:

    January 15, 2009 at 4:48 pm
    indiana is fool of women and librals. Nebraska I aint been and I bet you aint neither. Har har Illinois is in Canada.”
    ____________________________________________________________

    You are joking, right? I mean seriously, please tell me you’re having a laugh. Dear God….

    (at least you spelled ‘and’ correctly)

  10. bingabinga Says:

    Where are all these mad Americans coming from has someone posted a link to The Hunters for Jesus website or something.

    redwiteandblue,a fine example of geographical skills.

    Oh Gosh I have been an RN for a long time although I worked in a Mexican fast food joint for a while over here and did some other wee jobs.

    Fiona,I was in North Uist on the Sabbath and we had to go to Benbecula to get some dinner,as Barra South Uist and Benbecula are Catholic and keep the shops open and North Uist,Harris and Lewis are We Free Presbyterian and close everything.

  11. bingabinga Says:

    What do you do OhGosh?


Leave a Reply

